Hidden In Plain View


Hidden In Plain View

June Divided, Automatic 253

Sat. December 15, 2018

Doors: 8:00 pm / Show: 9:00 pm

Underground Arts

$15.00 - $18.00

This event is 21 and over

This show has been postponed from the original date of 6/9 to a new date of 12/15.

Hidden In Plain View
Hidden In Plain View
Hidden In Plain View formed in August 2000, when former 8 over Par members Joe Reo (vocals) and Rob Freeman (guitar/backing vocals) merged with former Jersey Nonsense members Kenny Ryan (guitar) and Chris Amato (bass), as well as Derek Reilly (drums). The name "Hidden In Plain View" refers to a situation at singer Reo's day job in a supermarket, where a customer used the expression after needing help finding a blatantly visible item. With this original line-up, the band recorded a three-track demo and soon got in touch with the local record label DAB Records, who released their now sought after, Chris Badami produced, debut Find in March 2001.

With the the Jay Snyder replacing Derek (who went on to form Red Light Green Light and Jaguar Shark), HIPV released their second EP titled Operation: Cut-Throat on Note to Self Records in early 2002. Before the end of the year, Kenny left and went on to co-form Houston Calls, and was replaced by Mike Saffert.

In June 2003, HIPV signed with southern California pop punk label Drive-Thru Records. The band immediately hit the road with labelmates The Early November. HIPV returned to Chris Badami to record four songs for their self-titled Drive-Thru debut. After the recording of the EP, Jay left the band to start John Connor. The self-titled EP was released in November 2003, featuring the liner notes picturing new drummer Spencer Peterson.

2004 saw HIPV prepare to release their first full-length album. The band teamed up with Jim Wirt in Santa Monica, CA to record Life in Dreaming, which was released in early 2005. The new album explored new territories and influences than the band's previous EPs.

Most of 2005 was spent touring domestically and internationally, including stints on the Vans Warped Tour, Japan and co-headling the European Drive-Thru Invasion Tour 2005 with Allister, Halifax and I Am The Avalanche.

In the fall of 2005, HIPV moved into a house on Lake Muskanetcong in Stanhope, NJ to begin writing their follow up to Life in Dreaming. After months of writing and demoing dozens of songs, the band spent the summer of 2006 in Baltimore, MD with producer Brian McTernan at Salad Days Studios. The finished record, titled Resolution show HIPV's sound again evolving and maturing in more focused directions.

On January 29, 2007, the band announced that they have broken up due to personal and creative differences. Resolution was released on Drive-Thru Records on July 24, 2007
June Divided
June Divided
Philadelphia's indie rock/pop outfit, June Divided, consists of Melissa Menago (guitar, keys, vocals), Chris Kissel (guitar), Keith Gill (drums), and Lenny Sasso (bass, synth). They have shared the stage with Twenty One Pilots, Rise Against, The Pretty Reckless, Walk The Moon, Tegan and Sara, and were seen on Warped Tour, MTVu and at SXSW.

After a busy initial start to their band, they took some quiet time to work on evolving their sound, and the end result is their late 2016 release, Body Wars. "We embraced more sounds and more influences for this EP," says Menago, "we also embraced the idea that it's ok to go through things, and that is truly what this record is about."
Venue Information:
Underground Arts
1200 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA, 19108